Security Beefed up as Supreme Court decides fate of 8 Governors today.


FJSC Shortlists 22 Justices For Supreme Court
Supreme Court

Armed Security operatives have cordoned off all the major routes to the Supreme Court in Abuja where the fate of eight governors today are to be decided today.

The Governors, whose elections are being challenged before the court, are; Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State; Abba Yusuf of Kano State, Alex Otti of Abia State; Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State; Francis Nwifuru of Ebonyi State; Dauda Lawal of Zamfara State; Bassey Otu of Cross River and Caleb Mutfwang of Plateau State.

Bauchi, Kano, Plateau and Zamfara Governors are already in court for their judgements that will be delivered by five-member panels of the apex court.

However, armed security operatives have blocked supporters of the parties from getting close to the Supreme Court which is located within the restricted three-arm-zone.

Only lawyers whose names are on lists that were held by security operatives, were allowed to enter the court premises.

Likewise, only accredited journalists were granted access to court, with everyone scanned and properly searched.

A five-member panel of the apex court, led by Justice Inyang Okoro had okayed the two cases for judgement, after all the parties adopted their briefs of argument.

The appeals were brought before the court by candidates of the Labour Party, LP, and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the governorship election that held in the state on March 18 respectively.

The Appellants are praying the apex court to nullify the declaration of some Governors and declared them valid winner of the gubernatorial election.

Governors of Zamfara, Cross River, Bauchi and Abia, will be hoping on the apex court to reaffirm their election victories and dismiss petitions seeking to remove them from office.