We Voted For Tinubu, No Going Back To PDP – Defecting Rivers Lawmakers


We Voted For Tinubu, No Going Back To PDP – Defecting Rivers Lawmakers


The member representing Asari-Toru Constituency 2 in the Rivers State House of Assembly, Honourable Enemi George, has revealed that the 27 members of the Assembly, who recently defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressive Congress (APC), all voted for President Bola Tinubu in the February 25, 2023 presidential election.

George who is among those who defected, while appearing on Channels Television’s Programme “Politics Today” on Wednesday, said that the lawmakers have no plan to return to the PDP, rather, they are committed to supporting Tinubu’s ‘Renewed Hope Agenda’.

In his words;

We have crossed that Rubicon. We have moved to the APC. We voted for the President, if we find Mr President worthy of our votes then I think we should find him worthy of our support.

“We have moved over to join his Renewed Hope Agenda to work hands in gloves with him to ensure that the expectations of Nigerians are fulfilled. So, we have moved to the APC and we are working with the President, we have crossed that Rubicon and there is no going back for us.”

Speaking on what transpired behind the doors during the peace meeting between Nyesom Wike, governor Siminalaye Fubara and others, convened by Tinubu, George said;

“For every item that was considered, the President gave both parties the option of controverting or agreeing. So, each item was deliberated and was agreed on.

“At the end of the deliberations, parties were asked to come up and append their signatures to the document and Mr President said, ‘Do I have your approval to release this to the press?’ and everybody echoed yes.

“And so, everybody signed on the document and then we moved forward. The governor signed and he gave a speech that he was committed to that agreement; Mr Speaker also made a speech and committed to accepting all the agreement”.