YPP wins Two House of Representatives Seats in Anambra Rerun Elections.


Anambra State Assembly Passes Burial Bill

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Young Progressives Party (YPP) candidate, Mr. Peter Uzokwe, as the winner of the House of Representatives Rerun Election for Ekwusigo and Nnewi North, Nnewi South Federal Constituency. 

The declaration was made by The Returning Officer for the election, Professor Charles Nweke,  at the INEC office in Nnewi North Local Government Area, who said Uzokwe polled 25, 580 votes to emerge as the winner.

He Proclaimed, the YPP candidate has satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, to beat his closest opponent , the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate, Mr. Uchenna Eleodimmuo, who lost to the winner with a slight margin, having polled 25, 412 votes.

The Labour Party candidate, Mr. Fredrick Emeka, polled 17, 863, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates garnered 7,021 and 2,658 votes respectively.

In a another development, Mrs. Chinwe Nnabuife of the YPP also was declared the winner of the rerun election held in Nanka ward 1, to represent Orumba North and South Federal Constituency having polled 14,416 votes to defeat the candidate of the PDP, Mr. Okwudili Ezenwankwo, who polled 13,087 votes.